Home > Misc Stuff > Gaming Prostitution?

Gaming Prostitution?

By my own admission, I have been neglecting my blog for the last ten days or so. This has been the result of a combination of factors and naturally, they’re game related. Firstly, my guild began hard modes in Icecrown Citadel and secondly, my second elemental shaman needed to be levelled faster than I had initially anticipated.

I woke up today to discover a lot of hits on my blog and further investigation led me to discover I’d been linked from wow.com as part of their look into patch 3.3 changes. As most bloggers will tell you, while we all do this for various reasons, there is a certain pride from having one of your articles become very widely read (and hopefully, appreciated). On that note, a huge thanks goes out to the lovely lady over at wow.com who was kind enough to give me a mention.

Back on the point….Needless to say, the above put me in an instantly good mood which is a rarity before my first coffee of the day. As I was wildly spamming my boyfriend with very specific details as to how many visitors I’d received, he linked an article to me. Upon reading it, I knew instantly that I could not resist featuring it here. It’s not shaman related, nor is it World of Warcraft related but it’s just too juicy to leave alone.

The article in question? You can find it here

I’ve been gaming for a long time. I was the only girl in a cutting edge PvE guild in one of the first MMOs to really tap into the raiding scene. (This was Everquest, for reference). I’ve witnessed first hand the attitude that girls don’t belong in high end guilds. Thankfully, this belief is quite dated and female gamers are now represented amongst the best guilds in the world. It hasn’t always been this way, however, and there are still some stigmas and stereotypes attached to girl gamers in general. Outside of MMOs, I’m an RTS player primarily, though I also have a weakness for turn based strategies (oh Civilization, how I have lost hours of my life to you.) To sum things up, I play a lot and more over, I take my gaming very seriously.

I want to state straight away that I’m of the belief that what a woman chooses to do with her body is precisely that; a choice – her choice. Providing that there is no exploitation involved, then the best of luck to her as far as I’m concerned. Never the less, this soon to be launching site (or service?) irks me a little in that it’s taken many years for a lot of the bias against female gamers to be chipped away.

I have mental images of chicks giggling into a webcam (pointed down their cleavage naturally) while whispering “oh my god! please be gentle! ohhh *squeeeeel* you got me!” (Please note, I’m quite sure this falls into the date category of “flirty” rather than “dirty” – I refuse to even imagine the second.)

On the other hand, I’m quite fascinated as to how much of a success it will prove to be. With $8.25 buying you approximately ten minutes of online game time with your chosen “playdate”, customers could find their charges adding up at a pretty extortionate rate.

There we have it ladies and gents (yes, there are a couple of male “playdates” ready for action), should you have an urge to pay for game time with one of their undoubtedly delightful members of staff, the site is launching in approximately four hours.

To the millions of ladies out there that enjoy genuinely kicking male ass online without the webcams or the giggling, keep it up and do it well!

Categories: Misc Stuff
  1. March 23, 2010 at 10:58 pm

    Oh man, this is such a can of worms. As a female gamer I’ve been lucky enough to avoid a lot of the ewww females asshattery that goes around, but I’m well aware of the difficulties out there. Along with men branding women with the ‘giggle/flirt’ brush, women also do the same. Falling into the trap of judging women because they happen to be flirts, and it becomes an absolute minefield.

    A gamer’s dating site is one thing, but this is…wow…words fail me.

  2. March 23, 2010 at 11:11 pm

    I knew you’d love it 😉

    • March 24, 2010 at 8:48 am

      Haha. I wasn’t sure about posting this on my site, because I found an excellent post over at The Border House blog. I think it is one of those things – some women make the choice (or have the choice, I hope) and therefore it is better that there are regulated avenues for something like this.

      I wonder how much protection and training (??) is given to the ’employees’

  3. Maker
    March 24, 2010 at 4:40 pm

    While I’m too lazy to ever try out this service, I honestly hope the women aren’t being asked to lose on purpose just to make their clients feel better about themselves.

    On a side note, why are you levelling a second elemental?

    • March 24, 2010 at 4:45 pm

      Zinglet 😦

      Basically my guild run one main raid a week and then (try) to run an alt raid (depending on peoples’ schedules)

      I have a level 80 lock and I hate the alt raids. I whine my way through the entire thing because I really don’t enjoy playing the warlock :p If I could take zing to the alt raids, I’d have no problem but obviously I cant.

      So Zinglet was born 😛

  4. March 24, 2010 at 7:45 pm

    I’ve got alot of alts on hand. Like seven 80s on one server and a half dozen sub 40 alts on another server when I feel like “Vactioning” from WoW to go play… WoW. I wound up splitting my time between two toons.

    My Dps/Tank DK and my Resto/Ele Shaman. Kinda burning the candle on both ends as the 25 man progression guild and a couple 10 mans runs with friends.

    Good luck with Zinglet. I found the same thing with warlocks. Ya gotta play what you like to raid on.

  5. Nerath
    April 2, 2010 at 5:30 pm

    Hey, im a first time poster, acctually only been on your site for about 20 minutes or so haha(great site btw lots of good insight!). As a guy I gotta say…I would never ever use that service in any way, I feel like its almost a slap in the face of gamer-women. I have always been drawn to guilds with a fair number of women in them not due to any creeper nature or anything but due to the fact that guilds with alot of women in them tend to be better ran and more mature then other guilds. Dont get me wrong I have been wrong on more then one occasion about that but overall it tends to be the case.

    On a side note: My main is a warlock and has been for about 4 years…I despise that horrible character lol which is probably why i have my other 5 80’s to mess around on.

    • April 3, 2010 at 12:08 pm

      Hiya 🙂

      Welcome to the site! I hope you found something of use to you on here despite your choice of main 😉

      It’s nice to hear a guy defend the female gamers. As I tried to stress in the article I do believe that what women do with their body’s is entirely upto them but female gamers have spent quite a long time fighting certain stigmas 😦

      I played a warlock main for about 4 years also. I only switched from her last year and while I loved my time as a ‘lock, I absolutely can’t stomach to play her at the moment 😉

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

