Home > Levelling as Elemental > Levelling as Elemental; Zinglet’s Story

Levelling as Elemental; Zinglet’s Story

February 10, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments

When Zing was created last year, she was done so with the vague notion already in my head that I would be main changing to this shaman. At that point she was destined to be restoration main spec as I was keen to see another side of raiding after player a caster DPS for years. Nearly every guide you will read will offer the same advice for shamans; level as enhancement. This was of no interest to me. Quite simple, melee DPS has never appealed to me. As such, from the very start Zing was levelled as elemental and yes, it was painful.

The character I had levelled before this was a warlock (when I did a reroll from Horde to Alliance prior to the faction change service). That warlock was levelled in a little over a week and was raiding Sunwell ten days after her creation date. With this in mind I started out very enthusiastically. I’m fortunate to have a lot of free time and I had wanted a shaman for such a long time that I envisaged her being eighty in no time at all. I think in the end, Zing took me close to three months to level. My actual play time on her was quite short but I found the whole experience excrutiatingly painful. At the end of the grind, I was happy though. I had my shiny new shaman and as predicted, I ultimately main changed from the warlock. While I’ve played both restoration and elemental as my main specs since then, the latter is currently my main spec as per our guilds’ requirements.

Where is this story going I hear you ask? Let me explain. My guild raid four nights a week usually. Depending on where we are on content (whether it’s on farm or we’re working on something specific), dictates how fast we clear. When we’re clearing fast, a few hours a week are devoted to alt raiding. This is where my problem begins to arise. I no longer enjoy my warlock. I wasn’t enjoying her when I rerolled and nothing has changed. For those few hours a week, I despise raiding. Never the less in such a small guild, we really needed everyone with an alt to be available.

At Christmas I had one of my awesome ideas. They are usually ridiculous but for whatever reason, once they’re implanted in my head, they’re there to stay. (For example, the awesome idea before this one was to start the Insane in the Membrane feat of strength of Zing. This is still ongoing and has cost me crazy amounts of time and gold already.) Here was how my thought process went:-

  • I don’t enjoy alt raids.
  • I don’t enjoy alt raids because I would rather be playing Zing.
  • If I could raid two sets of raid IDs with Zing, I would enjoy them.
  • I can’t raid two sets of raid IDs with Zing, therefore I don’t.
  • I wish I could clone Zing.
  • I can’t clone Zing but I could make a second Zing.

(The pictoral version for clarification)

Ladies and gentleman, please allow me to introduce Zinglet.

Affectionately dubbed Nublet by myself. Unaffectionately dubbed Scrublet by my equally unaffectionate guild master to whom befalls the task of boosting my alts through Scarlet Monestary. (I should mention that usually when the boosts run out at around level 45, so does my enthusiasm for the alt and I have at least one that has been parked outside the entrance to the Cathedral for a few months – there’s no wonder he’s bitter.)

As always, I was insanely enthusiastic about the idea of Zinglet. This enthusiasm soon passed at around level ten. It simply does not matter how many heirlooms I can buy to assist levelling, it’s too slow for my taste.

And what spec is Zinglet? Yes, she’s elemental…..

Zinglet’s story is (hopefully) going to serve as a diary of levelling* as an elemental shaman and the problems and annoyances that face this class spec combination in the long grind to eighty!

* This is assuming she does indeed reach eighty and doesn’t get abandoned to the Bermuda Triangle that is the entrance to Scarlet Monestary Cathedral.

  1. Maker
    February 10, 2010 at 10:24 pm

    My experience was the opposite. I enjoyed the entire process. Friends of mine offered to boost me through instances, but I avoided them at all costs. I’ve been playing too long and find no joy in running Pre-BC instances. I did run a few BC instances, but ultimately avoided those as well.

    The guild had no raiding elemental shaman at the time, so all of that gear was being sharded once all the pallies decided they didn’t want it. I figured I could at least put some of it to good use. Also, we really didn’t have a consistent raiding shaman in general, so we really wanted to have a regular BL.

    I wound up copying a raiding elemental shaman’s spec from another guild point for point and he was even nice enough to give me tips on glyphs and how to invest my points along the way.

    The worst part of the experience was the constant ganking. I was and still am terrible at pvp with the shaman.

  2. February 11, 2010 at 12:14 am

    Yea, our guild also lacked an elemental shaman and had a very flaky enhancement shaman so I jumped at the chance to reroll from my warlock.

    It’s annoying because when I first had to reroll (I was accepted to an alliance guild when my main was Horde), I managed to level really quickly. When I started levelling Zing I thought I’d manage it again but I found it really really hard work. Now with the shaman alt as well I have about as much enthusiasm as I would for dental surgery πŸ˜‰

    But still, enhancement just doesn’t appeal to me!

  3. February 11, 2010 at 9:27 am

    I had originally planned to level as elemental as you’ve noticed, the prevailing wisdom is to do it as enhancement. I tried that for a while, got to level 35 I think, before I’d had enough and went elemental. Never looked back, and once I got to 80 I made a resto off-spec. Well, I say “off-spec” but tbh I spend about half my raiding time in it (and almost all of my 5man time in it – hello insta-queue).

  4. February 11, 2010 at 11:53 pm

    I wish I had the enthusiasm you all seem to have! 😦

    It’s actually nice to hear people who enjoyed levelling as elemental. Maybe it should be a guide in support of levelling as elemental

  5. March 9, 2010 at 8:02 pm

    I too rerolled and made my shaman my main, the only problem was I was rerolling from my guild’s main tank. I was lucky enough that one of our dps death knights wanted to start tanking so he offered to take my spot (SCORE!)

  6. Tigress74
    March 26, 2010 at 1:20 pm

    I just found this blog and I want to thank you for being a gem of knowledge where there is very little.

    As for leveling elemental. I have a lvl 80 paladin and priest and I just rolled a baby shaman for the 3rd time. Every time I took the advice and tried to level enhancement, hated it and gave up each time. This last time I tried to level enhancement after I had just leveled my paladin to 80. It was extremely painful. So I tried elemental and I love it. I just hit lvl 30 and I can put down 4 totems at once!! I’m ecstatic. One thing that is a drawback Is the lack of caster leather and mail pre-Outlands. But, the heirloom items make up for that somewhat. Other then that I look forward to leveling my baby shaman to 80 as elemental.

    • March 26, 2010 at 1:44 pm

      Hiya and welcome to the site!

      Scrublet (as she has become known), is now level 73 and most definitely to blame for the lack of proper updates on this blog recently. Prior to levelling Zing, I tried three times to level a shaman and I think the highest I ever got was 12. When I started levelling Zing with determination to stick to it, I was told by just about everyone to level as enhancement and I felt almost dirty when I had to tell people I was levelling as elemental.

      I’ve taken more time to consider the spec as a levelling option while dragging Zinglet through the levels. I have to say, I’m pretty convinced it’s highly viable these days. I think once you get water shield at level 20, the mana issues that rear their ugly heads earlier vanish entirely and the downtime is pretty minimal (especially when you compare it to a mage for example)

      You are entirely correct about the older world rewards and drops and their lack of elemental itemisation and quite often I’ve found myself in cloth (good preparation for 80 ;)) with stats I don’t need (spirit).

      Overall however, I’ve found levelling the second shaman to be quite enjoyable. It’s only in the last week or so I’ve started to stress a little over it because I’ve found the guild needing me for alt runs so I’ve tended to put more pressure on myself to rush.

      I’d thoroughly encourage you to stick at it and level to 80, they’re an amazing class with a lot of versatility and even amongst my elemental readers here, you’ll find quite a few with a hidden soft spot for restoration πŸ˜‰

      I hope you enjoy the blog, if you have any questions don’t hesitate to post and come back soon πŸ™‚

  7. Tigress74
    March 26, 2010 at 5:48 pm

    Thank you for the warm welcome. πŸ™‚ I subscribed to your blog on google reader and I’m reading up a storm, no pun intended πŸ˜‰

    As far as leveling, I would be interested to see how different it would be without heirlooms. I have the Discerning Eye of the Beast trinket x2 and I have never had mana problems, and I am very bad about keeping my shield up. Also with the +spell power of heirlooms I am sure it makes it far less painful. TBH I two shot mobs with in my lvl range if I crit. If I don’t takes maybe 3 hits.

    I have been resistant to getting cloth gear, but I guess I better bite the bullet or I’ll be lvl 50 with lvl 10 leather boots. Haha.

    Also yes my 2nd spec will be resto. I am very curious to see how much different it is from priest Disc healing.

  8. Jeani
    May 15, 2010 at 11:04 pm

    I have to tell you… I levelled my shammy all the way to 80 as an elemental. My intention was to make her a healer but after playing her as elemental, I enjoy her too much to shelf her casting abilities. She is my favorite toon and I rarely play any of my other alts. Until recently elemental shammies were not given much respect.

  1. March 18, 2010 at 1:07 am

Leave a Reply

