Home > Patch 3.3.3 > Patch 3.3.3 Post Launch Summary

Patch 3.3.3 Post Launch Summary

Patch 3.3.3 is now live on all realms and as such, so are the elemental changes. I’ve spent some time testing on the dummies this morning but I want to postpone drawing any solid conclusions until I get to raid tonight.

I have spotted at least one undocumented change however and although merely graphical, it’s very welcomed for many elemental shamans I suspect.

For those who chose to go the route of crafting the Lightning-Infused Leggings, the model of these has now been changed to be identical to the Sanctified Frost Witch’s Kilt. No more look like a druid for you!

My initial thoughts are that the changes should put us in a strong DPS position in raids. I’ve been pulling between 7k and 8.3k on the dummy this morning. The latter using heroism and obviously, there are some RNG factors. That’s a definite increase from when I lasted did any extensive dummy testing and didn’t include food buffs or flasks (for reference, I was using the Glyph of Lava).

As a final reminder for any raiding elemental shamans out there who are still unsure of the changes or how they effect you:-

  • Flame Shock’s damage over time component can now crit by default.
  • To account for the above, the glyph of flame shock was changed to give an increased critical strike damage bonus by 60%
  • Glyph of flame shock is no longer worth using. Replace it with either glyph of flametongue or glyph of lava
  • The four set tier ten bonus is now very good. If you have avoided it until now, get it as soon as possible
  • Haste is now affecting your Flame Shock ticks
  • Be aware that the above means you will be Flame Shocking more and your rotation may feel slightly different than pre-patch

Have fun raiding and I’d be happy to hear all your thoughts on the elemental changes today.

Categories: Patch 3.3.3
  1. pewter
    March 24, 2010 at 2:42 pm

    In the absence of having WoW installed on my work computer, I’ve been playing around with simcraft. On a patchwerk style fight, obviously Lava/Flametongue come out ahead. With Lava and my current gear, haste actually becomes MORE valuable than spellpower (minutely, anyways). I’m just re-running the simcraft for a helterskelter fight and a helterskelter fight with adds to see how it goes.

    Do you use a DoT tracker? Is it updating with the new hasted dot?

    • Sky
      March 26, 2010 at 1:44 am

      Is the FS glyph really that bad? and if so can you provide some math regarding the merits of FtW/Lava?

      It’s really tough to find a consensus regarding glyph spot #3 and every site I go to says something different.

      People are saying that FS is still good especially in high mobility fights. However, it is absolute garbage in add fights (Deathwhisper, Dreamwalker).

      FtW is a 2% buff to crit which is always good. I’m not totally sold on this though as this does not benefit LvB at all since it always crits.

      LvB on the other hand is the complete opposite. It buffs Lvb while doing nothing else for your other spells.

      I am currently using FtW as it increases my Clearcasting uptime(10% bonus damage). Thanks in advance for the help.

      • March 26, 2010 at 12:37 pm

        Hiya,

        Yes, it’s really that bad :) The Zap! spreadsheet currently weighs our glyphs as follows:-

        Glyph of Lightning Bolt: 260 DPS
        Glyph of Totem of Wrath: 170 DPS
        Glyph of Flametongue Weapon / Glyph of Lava: 120 DPS
        Glyph of Flame Shock: 80 DPS

        As you can see, it’s vastly under flametongue weapon or lava. Zap! is kept completely upto date so the figures are accurate :)

        Basically, I’m switching glyphs dependent upon the fight at the moment (and I’ll add a full article on this at some point over the next few days). Your thinking is correct, you have FtW that gives you 2% crit to all offensive spells except lava burst. This is versus glyph of lava that gives you an increased lava burst damage but doesn’t affect anything else.

        From there, I’d recommend thinking about each encounter (because frankly, neither of these glyphs is a clear “winner” on the maths). What I’d be considering, is the following:-

        Encounter Mechanics:-

        - Any fight that has multiple target and calls for AoE spells (so anywhere you’re making heavy use of Chain Lightning hitting multiple targets) will favour glyph of flametongue weapon.
        - Magma totem and searing totem both benefit from our personal crit at the time of dropping the totem. As such, if you’re running with these, flametongue will probably be a better glyph for you.
        - If you’re battling an encounter where a period of high burst is required as opposed to continuously sustained damage, glyph of lava is probably better for you.
        - High movement fights generally reduce the number of times we cast our filler spells – in our case, lightning bolt. If you’re moving a LOT and suffering a lot of DPS downtime, glyph of lava will have more value.

        Your Gear:-

        - Lightning bolt and flame shock are highly affected by our own haste levels. If you run with very high levels of haste (take into account heroism, engineering gloves, raid buffs, heroism use, racials if necessary), then glyph of flametongue weapon becomes stronger.
        - With higher levels of spell damage but lower haste, lava burst is better.

        Outside Factors:-

        - High latency or low FPS affect the number of casts we do. *Generally* speaking, because lava burst is our top priority nuke, lag or frame rate issues will hit our filler spells harder than lava burst, thus reducing the number of casts we make. If this is an issue, then lava burst will likely win out.

        As I’ve also mentioned in my post, I’d really recommend carrying a couple of fire elemental totem glyphs for those players that are free to use them. On lich king, for example, the fight is long enough to take full advantage of a reduced and the increase to your personal DPS is quite staggering. Another example would be Lady Deathwhisper (heroic) where you can also squeeze in two elementals if you pop the first immediately in phase 1.

        Hope that helps!

  2. March 24, 2010 at 2:47 pm

    Hiya :)

    Forte is most definitely updating as it should, though I did download the update for it earlier today.

  3. Maker
    March 24, 2010 at 4:34 pm

    I’ve been using ClassTimr and haven’t updated it in months. I had no issues tracking my Flame Shock this morning on the target dummy. I had similar figures to Zing as well (71,00). (No BL or EM though.)

    Going to try out FT later tonight, but I think I’ll probably wind up sticking with that. I don’t recall any situation where if I had that little extra burst that an add would’ve died faster.

  4. March 24, 2010 at 7:13 pm

    Hey!

    I spent a bit more time on the dummies this afternoon along with a nice jaunt in a 5 man heroic.

    For me, at least on the dummies, glyph of lava is coming out higher than flametongue. As I’ve mentioned in a comment elsewhere, I suspect that in a fight with a lot of movement and target changing, you’ll see flametongue creep ahead. Either way, I don’t think there is much in it.

    On long fights and for the shamans that are free to use fire dps totems, I’d definitely consider carrying a few fire elemental glyphs around and see how that works out for you ;) Deathwhisper heroic.. lich king.. both spring to mind.

    Regarding the haste because yes, I’ve heard and read this also. I actually switched all my gems this afternoon and did a little more dummy testing. (When I say switched, 11 runed cardinal rubies became 11 reckless ametrines). There was *very* little difference overall between my damage output gemmed for haste and that gemmed for spell power. For now, I’m gemmed back for spell power but I will consider switching them again when I’m starting to reach closer to my BiS gear.

    In the 5 man, my damage was much higher than I’ve seen before (I was pulling 7-8k damage throughout). However, the rest of the DPS in the group were dire (I’m talking 1-2k DPS) so I could really get the most out of AoE pulls for example. Normally, I run in guild groups and everything dies so fast.

    Sadly, I’m not raiding tonight due to one of our tanks having a real life emergency so I can’t get a better feel on things until tomorrow!

    Anyone who IS raiding I would simply love to hear how you find the changes in an actual raiding environment.

  5. Danny
    March 24, 2010 at 8:07 pm

    In raiding last night, I found my DPS sufficiently buffed that on single targets I was rivaling mages and warlocks on DPS. I also noted that I was pulling agro (not used to that) and having to wind shear.
    Is it the increased DPS/hasted shocks or did paladin threat take a nosedive last night ?

    • March 24, 2010 at 8:13 pm

      Hiya :)

      Interesting to hear about your experiences with the DPS compared to other classes. It’s easy enough for me to sit infront of a dummy and squeal because I feel buffed, but that doesn’t say much about an actual raid environment.

      In regards to the paladin threat – I’ve just had the briefest of looks at the patch notes and I can’t see anything that suggests paladin tanks have been nerfed. Since both of our guild MTs are also paladins, I suspect I would have heard the screaming a long time ago if this was true.

      That’s a little worrying!

  6. Danny
    March 24, 2010 at 9:27 pm

    Well, I didn’t see anything about the Gunship encounter being prolonged in the Patch Notes either ;)…but multiple groups found that we were having 5 cycles vs 3. I also heard (can’t validate) that the Dungeon Finder now ports a added individual to the party (ie if someone gets kicked or such) vs them having to run through instance. We also found Drums of Forgotten Kings to not work in ICC last night (I think that’s a bug though).

    Point being…not all changes actually get documented ;0

    • Markrr
      March 25, 2010 at 3:25 am

      Yes you do now get ported to the party’s current position if you are joining a random that is in progress. I actually ran into a problem with this when I was ported into an Oculus run on one of the platforms before the second boss without a drake to fly to the next platform.

      Anyway. I was using the FtW glyph last night for our raid and had good results. It was nice increase over my pre-patch dps.

  7. Steve
    March 25, 2010 at 12:04 am

    We ran ICC25 tonight as a guild with a couple of pugs. With changed glyphs I too noted a damage increase of about 10%. However, a few members including a priest, resto druid, pally tank and myself noted a significant increase in mana consumption to a point where some were ooming. Anyone else come across this?

    • March 25, 2010 at 12:10 am

      Hm how weird.

      I’d love to know if anyone else is noticing that. I’ll look out for both that and the threat issues mentioned when we raid tomorrow.

  8. March 25, 2010 at 2:27 am

    Hey Zing! I know I’m a little late but congrats on the WoW.com link, you definitely deserve it :) Keep up the great work!

    • March 25, 2010 at 1:01 pm

      Thank you Charles :D I was very excited :P

  9. Canaandra
    March 25, 2010 at 10:30 pm

    I am really liking the new changes. I’ve even experimented adding an extra frost shock here and there (just to keep it interesting) in my rotations. I still wish I had more…spells to cast, but I do like the constant crits.

    I wish I had the time to get the 4 piece set for my shaman. It’s become quite time consuming to have two raiding toons and especially one with two specs (I secretly love being resto).

    My guild has been having some major progression issues, we can’t down Dreamwalker or Festergut…so frustrating and a little disheartening, but it’s part of the process, right?

    This blog has become a daily check out place for me. Keep up the good work!

  10. March 25, 2010 at 10:51 pm

    Are you doing 10s or 25s? I guess 25s? And normal or hard modes? What’s going wrong, any idea?

    I agree with you about the time involved in collecting all the emblems. We’ve just had an old member return to raiding and he’s finding it so very grindy :( He also plays two specs quite actively so it’s pretty bad for him.

    I’ve JUST gotten my first piece of t10 resto so it’ll be a while before I’m full tier 10′d up there :(

    • Canaandra
      March 26, 2010 at 1:40 am

      We’re doing 25s. I haven’t tried the 10s yet because of my limited playtime. I think what’s going wrong is we’re not a full guild run and we get a lot of puggers each week, and some are just…I mean…2.2k in Festergut ain’t gonna cut it!
      We just can’t carry people the way we used to in TOC 25 and even then it was a challenge.

      I don’t get too bummed about collecting the emblems. I figure it’ll happen eventually and when it does, well Cataclysm will come out…and the grind begins again! lol

      • March 26, 2010 at 12:43 pm

        Then yes, I think you know your own issue already :(

        I must admit, it was that sort of scenario that pushed me into focusing on ten mans. I’ve done the crazy hardcore playing and although I’m fortunate enough to have a lot of time to play, I do have outside commitments that can call me away from the PC at unpredictable times (animals) so I can’t commit to playing all day during progress anymore.

        My last 25 man guild had a strong core but then a % of more casual players who never read tactics, didn’t play enough to really understand the encounters and were quite poor players overall. As such, the ten man raids we ran outside of guild time had better progress than our main raids. This in itself caused drama because we always used the same ten people and when we got the Ulduar drakes quite quickly, the rest of the guild got pretty pissed off.

        In the end, we decided to split off and focus on the ten man raids (and we’re ranked so we can only use ten man gear anyway).

        This reminds me, I’m so far behind on my boss guides :>

  1. March 26, 2010 at 1:01 am

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

